Warriors Rearguard Foils Lightning

O’Brien and Lazars Deny Leinster from first win

Oak Hill Cricket groundNIALL O’BRIEN and Steve Lazars dogged resistance denied Leinster Lightning victory on the final day of their Hanley Energy Inter-Provincial Championship game at Oak Hill.

The pair shared a fourth wicket stand of 132 in 36 overs, which occupied most of the morning session The duo showed all of their experience in denying a determined Lightning attack, for whom George Dockrell was the star performer.

O’Brien top scored with 87 from 192 balls (13 fours), while Lazars made a defiant 62 from 119 deliveries (11 fours).

Even after both were dismissed along with Andy McBrine, the Warriors middle order battled manfully, with determined resistance from Stuart Thompson (40), Johnny Thompson (25) and David Rankin (22). Craig Young even curbed his natural attacking instincts to use up what was to prove a crucial 36 deliveries.

Warriors were eventually dismissed in the 109th over, with Dockrell having the excellent analysis of 6 for 67 in a marathon effort, while there were two wickets apiece for Eddie Richardson and Peter Chase.

With a target of 167 in 17 overs, Lightning attacked from the off, but despite a brave effort could only manage 123 for 3 when the players shook hands on the draw – Jack Tector top scoring with an unbeaten 48.

Lightning lead the table by two points ahead of the Warriors and Knights.

All the teams are back in action tomorrow (FRI) in the IP20 Trophy, when the Warriors entertain Munster Reds at Eglinton, while the Knights have home advantage against Lightning at Shaw’s Bridge – both games get under way at 5pm.

Hanley Energy Inter-Provincial Championship

Leinster Lightning v North West Warriors at Oak Hill, Day 3 of 3
North West Warriors 235 and 296 (108.4 overs; N O’Brien 87, S Lazars 62, S Thompson 40: G Dockrell 6-67)
Leinster Lightning 365-9 dec and 123-3 (16 overs; J Tector 48*, S Singh 27; S Thompson 2-17)

irish crickets senior and national cup

Irish Senior Cup and National Cup Replays

Cricket Ireland Senior Cup Image

In the second round replays of the Irish Senior Cup, all three teams from the North West Cricket Union in action crashed out. That means there will be four NCU and four Leinster sides contesting the quarter-finals.

Waringstown Vs Coleraine

Four times winners Waringstown beat Coleraine by 8 wickets to set up a home time with Merrion, these two sides have met in the last two finals of the competition.

Two wickets apiece for spinners Kyle McCallan (2-22) and Morgan Topping (2-23) helped restrict Coleraine to 167 for 7, with only David Cooke (71*) offering major resistance.

The total proved woefully inadequate as a second wicket stand of 131 in 119 balls between James Hall and James McCollum saw Waringstown race to victory. Hall’s unbeaten 91 came from just 72 balls (12 fours, 4 sixes), while McCollum found the boundary 8 times in his 51 from 63 balls.

At The Lawn,

Coleraine 167-7 (50 overs; D Cooke 71*, M Poskitt 25; K McCallan 2-22, M Topping 2-23)
Waringstown 173-2 (25.2 overs; J Hall 91*, J McCollum 51)

Pembroke Vs Bready

Pembroke’s Nick Cutler and Andrew Balbirnie shared an unbroken second wicket stand of 199 to help their team beat Bready by 9 wickets, to set up a home clash with North Down.

Cutler made an unbeaten 110 from 133 balls (13 fours), while Balbirnie was undefeated on 90 from 97 balls (11 fours) as Pembroke made light of Bready’s total of 219 for 7.

David Rankin top scored with 43, with Jamie Magee (41), Craig Young (37*) and Irosh Samarasorriya (30) also among the runs.

At Sydney Parade,
Bready 219-7 (50 overs; D Rankin 43, J Magee 41, C Young 37*, I Samarasooriya 30; J Balbirnie 2-39, P Lawson 2-53)
Pembroke 221-1 (39.4 overs; N Cutler 110*, A Balbirnie 90*)

The Hills vs Donemana

Two-times winners The Hills are safely through after beating Donemana by six wickets in a relatively low-scoring affair at Milverton.

William McClintock top scored with 38 as Donemana were dismissed for just 143, Naz Shaukat, Ryan Cartwright and Yaqoob Ali all taking two wickets apiece.

McClintock then took 3 for 41 as The Hills struggled initially, but Mike Baumgart (58*) and Ryan Cartwright (29*) added an unbroken 68 for the 5th wicket to set up a local derby in the quarter-finals at home to Balbriggan.

At Milverton,
Donemana 143 (37.1 overs; W McClintock 38, RL Dougherty 27; R Cartwright 2-20, Y Ali 2-28, N Shaukat 2-32)
The Hills 144-4 (39 overs; M Baumgart 58*, R Cartwright 29*: W McClintock 3-41)

The National Cup

Cricket ireland National Cup imageIn the National Cup, Knockharley reached the last eight after beating Newbuildings by 26 runs. They will now face Derriaghy in the quarter-finals.



Irish Senior Cup Quarter-Finals

Waringstown v Merrion
Pembroke v North Down
CIYMS v Instonians
The Hills v Balbriggan

Irish National Cup Quarter-Finals

Malahide v Midleton
Derriaghy v Knockharley
Rush v Terenure
Strabane v County Kerry

Ties to be played Sunday July 9. Reserve date July 23.

%d bloggers like this: