Warriors stick with winning squad

The North West Warriors have opted to stick with the 13-man squad that started the new season as they head to Stormont on Tuesday for an IP50 game against the Northern Knights.


Gary Wilson’s charges recovered quickly from defeat in Leinster in their opening game to account for Munster Reds at Eglinton and can go to Belfast in confident mood at the start of next week’s double-header.


The Warriors’ batting order looks more settled this season with Andy McBrine set to get a run in the Number 3 slot behind openers William Porterfield and Stephen Doheny. Skipper McBrine has a plethora of middle and lower order options after that, all of whom are capable of scoring heavily.


It’s a similar story in the bowling department too- Craig Young, Boyd Rankin, Conor Olphert, Graham Hume and Shane Getkate vying for the seam and swing roles with Graham Kennedy and Ross Allen offering support to the skipper with the slow stuff.

Nathan McGuire who impressed on debut for Glendermott



These are always keenly contested affairs with two sides that have rarely had much between them. Paul Stirling turned out for the Knights in their defeat in Dublin- their only competitive game to date- and in Luke Georgeson and Jeremy Lawlor they have quality players of whom the visitors will be very wary.

It has all the makings of a lively game with action getting under way at 10.45am. The match will be streamed live on the Cricket Ireland Youtube channel.


North West Warriors v Northern Knights, Stormont, 18th May, 10:45am

Andy McBrine (capt); William Porterfield; Stephen Doheny; Graham Hume; Stuart Thompson; Graham Kennedy; Nathan McGuire; Ross Allen; Shane Getkate; William McClintock; Boyd Rankin; Conor Olphert; Craig Young;


Extended training squad

In addition to the Senior Warriors squad, the North West Warriors selectors have named an additional 11 players for training. The Selectors have scope to add to the squad as the season progresses and the squad works towards the Emerging Series starting in late June.


Warriors Senior Squad:

Andy McBrine (c)

Ross Allen

Varun Chopra

Stephen Doheny

Shane Getkate

Aaron Gillespie

Graham Hume

Graham Kennedy

Kyle Magee

William McClintock

Nathan McGuire

Conor Olphert

William Porterfield

Boyd Rankin

Will Smale

Stuart Thompson

Craig Young

Players added to extended training squad:

Raymond Curry

Ross Dougherty

Ryan Hunter

Reece Kelly

Scott Macbeth

Ryan Macbeth

Gregory McFaul

Trent McKeegan

James McKillop

Robbie Millar

Tommy Orr

The North West Warriors are sponsored by Fleming-Agri whose logo will appear on the new playing kit and on advertising boards around the boundary. The support of Fleming-Agri is hugely appreciated by Warriors players, coaches and the NWCU.




You may also like

%d bloggers like this: