The North West Warriors have named a 12-man squad for their final couple of games next week when they will entertain the Northern Knights at Eglinton on Monday in the Interprovincial Cup before the sides square up again at Bready to decide the 3-day Championship title starting on Tuesday.

The first game may be something of a dead rubber now that Leinster Lightning have secured that particular trophy, however there are definite bragging rights at stake nonetheless. It’s a completely different story come Tuesday morning as Andy McBrine’s team look to retain the title they won 12 months ago, although only a win against the NCU side will suffice for that to happen.


There are few changes to what has now become a fairly settled side with the only change of note being the addition of David Barr. The Brigade opener has enjoyed a prolific season at club level and comes in to offer options at the top of the order. The batsman was sounded out for the recent 3-day game at North County but was unavailable for that trip; however he was keen to return to the Warriors set-up when the opportunity arose.

There’s a familiar look to the rest of the pack and skipper McBrine is well aware that a win for either side here would almost certainly see them collect the trophy.

All support is greatly appreciated over the four days with action at Eglinton on Monday getting under way at 10.45 while the Bready game starts each morning at 11 am.

The Warriors squad in full is-

Andrew McBrine
William Porterfield
Stuart Thompson
Craig Young
David Rankin
Aaron Gillespie
Graham Kennedy
Will Smale
Graham Hume
Ross Allen
David Scanlon
David Barr

You may also like