The North West Warriors are the 2021 IPT20 Champions after a thoroughly dominant 8-wicket win over Leinster Lightning in Sunday’s title showdown at Comber. Having come unstuck against Munster Reds on Saturday afternoon there was to be no repeat in the decider as Gary Wilson’s charges dominated from start to finish.

A superb performance with the ball set the tone for the Warriors’ success as despite a half century 9th wicket stand between Gavin Hoey and Josh Little, Lightning were only able to manage 113-9 from their 20 overs.

Hoey hit 3 sixes and a four in his 37 while Little was unbeaten on 19 however apart from Kevin O’Brien with 23 at the top of the order, no-one else reached double figures for the southerners.

Conor Olphert was impressive with his 3-27 but the spin of Graham Kennedy (2-14) and Andy McBrine (2-18) really strangled the Dublin side’s effort with the bat. Ryan Macbeth (1-15) and Graham Hume (1-28) were also on the mark before the Warriors made light of the target in reply.

William Porterfield anchored the chase with an unbeaten 39 (4 fours, 1 six) while Andy McBrine (24) and Stephen Doheny (17) edged the North West side to within touching distance. Shane Getkate wasted little time in securing the title win- his 26 not out coming off just 12 balls and including 3 fours and 2 sixes as the Warriors won with 8 wickets and more than 6 overs to spare.

A deserved win this for a team that has led the table pretty much from the start, but a really closely contested championship with all sides finding form at various stages. And while never one to take personal credit, what a stunning job Gary Wilson has done in his first season in his new post.


You may also like