Three North West winners at Cricket Ireland Awards night

The Business Plus Cricket Awards ceremony was held in Clontarf Castle on Friday night with a host of former and current players, support staff and clubs recognised by Cricket Ireland for their efforts of last season and beyond.

Popular Irish Umpire Paul Reynolds, who passed away during the 2023 season, was among those honored; his father collecting an award in his memory in an emotional presentation.

Orla Prendergast and Amy Hunter were other deserving winners; Orla winning the Certa award for her amazing season at International level while Amy, who also starred in the green shirt this year, picked up the EVOKE Super Series prize.

The Butler’s Chocolate Women’s club Player of the Year was claimed by Fox Lodge’s Mollie Devine who had a fantastic summer both for the Ballymagorry side, and for the Dragons.

As well as her efforts with both bat and ball that saw her club lift the NW Women’s senior cup for the fifth time in six years. the all-rounder has also been front and centre of the Union’s development efforts for both boys and girls.

Ardmore’s Dermot Ward took home the Macron Volunteer of the Year award after another fantastic effort at club, Interprovincial and International level.

Dermot has given a lifetime of service to the Bleachgreen outfit and watched on with huge pride as his club picked up their first ever senior league title last summer.

He is currently first team scorer and the club as well as being a prominent senior committee member.

Dermott also scores for the NWCU at Interprovincial level and for Cricket Ireland on the International front and if that wasn’t enough, he uses his experience as a former International Umpire to train new and existing club officials.

Another man who boasts a most impressive CV in umpiring is David Caldwell and ‘DW’ was also honoured on Friday night with the Waterford Crystal Club Official of the Year, presented in memory of Paul Reynolds.

There are very few umpires who have been part of the NW fabric over the past 20 years who haven’t come through Davy Caldwell’s tuition and the former left arm bowler knows every rule in the Tom Smith book, and the man who wrote them!


He continues to share his vast knowledge right up to the present day and is one of the most recogniseable figures in Irish cricket.

Other winners on the night included Alan Lewis who deservedly claimed the Gibney’s Outstanding Contribution and Service to Irish Cricket in honour of John Wright and Neil Rock who won the HBV Studios Men’s Interprovincial Player.

YMCA’s Harry Tector was named Business Plus Magazine¬†Men’s International Player of the Year after a superb twelve months while the Butler’s Men’s Club Player went to Morgan Topping.

Brigade were runners-up to Waringstown in the Arachas Club of the Year after a very successful season for the Beechgrove club both on and off the pitch.

All in all this was a very successful night enjoyed by everyone as the 2024 looms into view.

You may also like