T20 finals decided as runs flow on Friday night

The three T20 finals in the White Horse Hotel North West competitions were decided at the second attempt on Friday night with plenty of runs scored across the six matches.

In the Faughan Valley Cup, Ardmore will take on Brigade after the champions beat Donemana by 33 runs while Brigade’s batting was far too strong for Bready in a 9-wicket success at Beechgrove.

Hayden Melly top scored with 28, Rachit Gaur added 22 and Harry Zimmermann 20 as Ardmore posted 128-9 batting first in their game; Andy McBrine (3-24), David O’Sullivan (2-21) and Rumesh Buddhika (2-23) best with the ball for the visitors.

It didn’t seem particularly demanding in the grander scheme of things, however the cup finalists struggled throughout in reply with Raymond Curry’s 29 and Levi Dougherty’s 20 the best of it.

There were two wickets apiece for Zimmermann, Gaur and Dharm Singh for Ardmore, but the telling contribution was to come from Bobby Brolly- the teenager showing great composure to claim 4-8 from his two overs as Gary McClintock’s side were bowled out for 95.

It was the other end of the scoring scale at Beechgrove where Parth Palawat hit a brilliant 113 not out for Bready and David Rankin chipped in with 35 in a total of 174-4.

Marcello Piedt picked up 2-34 and the home side never looked in trouble at any stage in the chase as Scott Macbeth made 59 not out, Cameron Melly 53 and Piedt 34 not out in a very comfortable win.

The Eric Cooke final will see Eglinton play Newbuildings after again, contrasting semi-finals in those games.

Killyclooney set the villagers 152-7 after Kenzie Hall made 62 (8 fours, 3 sixes), Andrew Neil 23 and Giles Moan 20, with Jamie Millar (3-23) and Mark Averill (2-48) best with the ball.

With rain around, the visitors managed to get just one ball over the 5 overs needed to constitute a game before the match was abandoned, with Eglinton just ahead on DLS at that point. Liam Doherty’s 29 from 15 balls was key for them as Eglinton made it through to the decider.

And just as in the Faughan Valley cup, the second semi-final was full of runs as Newbuildings took Bonds Glen for 226-2 in their 20 overs.

Ryan Hunter hit a 57-ball 115* (11 fours, 8 sixes) with Samarth Seth adding 88 (7 fours, 7 sixes) and that was to be too rich for the Bee Gees.

David Cooke was unbeaten on 35 and Pushpender Singh 28 in a reply of 128-6, Hunter and Seth complimenting their runs with two wickets apiece.

And the Sperrin Springs final will see Tyrone neighbours Fox Lodge and Strabane lock horns after away wins for both on Friday night.

The Foxes went to Section 2 leaders St Johnston and restricted the Donegal side to 81-8 with only David Anthony (23) getting going with the bat.

Gayan Maneeshan (3-15) and two wickets apiece for Aaron Heywood and Adam Walker picking up two apiece, although to be fair, the Ballymagorry side made heavy weather of the chase. Craig Dougherty’s 27 got them over the line as they lost five wickets in getting there.

In-form Nasir Nawar hit 5 fours and 5 sixes with Aaron Gillespie adding 30* as Strabane travelled to the north coast and thumped Coleraine by 9 wickets.

The Bannsiders were dismissed for 125 with Marcus Poskitt (39), Scott Campbell (27) and Matty Smyth (27) providing most of those.

Having been 88-3 at one point it was a bit of a collapse from the host’s order with Leighton McGarrigle (2-14) and Ryan Gallagher (2-19) faring best of the visitors’ bowling in an emphatic win.


The finals line-up is now as follows-

Faughan Valley Cup- Ardmore v Brigade at The Rectory on 21 July

Eric Cooke Cup- Eglinton v Newbuildings at Newbuildings on 18 July

Sperrin Springs Cup- Fox Lodge v Strabane at Donemana on 25 July


White Horse Hotel


You may also like