Seven of eight ‘seeds’ through in Sports Hub Senior Cup ties

Sunday’s Sports Hub Senior Cup quarter-final draw will feature seven of the eight ‘seeded’ teams, with all bar Killyclooney making it into the hat after Saturday’s first round ties were completed in glorious sunshine across the region.

‘Clooney were very easy on the eye last year and led the senior league table for much of the season on the back of Blayde Capell’s brilliant summer, however it’s been a difficult start in their lofty surroundings now as they try to cope without the super South African.

Holders Brigade negotiated a potentially difficult trip to St Johnston as they emerged from their first round tie with a 6-wicket verdict in Donegal.

Graeme McCarter top scored for the Saints as they batted first; the former Brigade man scoring 47 while Jack Macbeth added 45 and Shirzad 35 as the hosts posted 182 all out.

Jamie Millar (4-38), Scott Macbeth (3-42) and Josh Wilson (2-26) did the damage with the ball for the Beechgrove side while Cameron Melly and former Saint, Macbeth, supplied the bulk of the winning runs.

The Warriors pair helped their side recover from a early wobble at 22-3 to post a partnership of 134 for the fourth wicket that removed any hope of an upset.

Melly was unbeaten on 76 at the end (10 fours, 3 sixes) while Macbeth made 58 as Brigade went into the hat for the next round.

Bready proved just a bit too strong for Bonds Glen at Magheramason with the home side also closing out a comfortable 6-wicket win.

Divan Posthumus top scored with 54 for the Bee Gees with Heinrich Roberts (40), David Cooke (38) and Johnny Haslett (20) contributing to a very respectable total of 218 all out.

Parth Palawat (4-43) and Nathan McCombe (3-46) claimed the bowling honours for Bready before Kyle Magee and Gavin Roulston ensured there would be no slip-up with the bat.

Magee hit 12 fours and 2 sixes in his 107 with Roulston adding 79 (9 fours, 3 sixes) in a second wicket partnership of 131 that broke the back of the chase, leaving Ian Young’s side to cruise into the next round.

League champions Ardmore racked up 304-6 from their 50 overs at home to Section 2 side Burndennett which earned them a 107-run victory and a place in the quarter-finals.

Harry Zimmermann hit 6 fours and 4 sixes in his 95, and skipper Rachit Gaur 71 with Dharm Singh and Muhammad Edrees chipping in with 48 and 26 respectively.

There were two wickets apiece for Cody Mehaffey and Mark Pollock for ‘Dennett who to be fair were far from disgraced in reply.

Mark Doherty made 62 at the top of the order and while Galvin Pollock and Conan Pollock chipped in with 36 apiece in a total of 197-5.

Newbuildings recorded a comfortable 8-wicket success in their first game of the season at Foyleview as they saw off the challenge of Strabane.

The hosts had a couple of unexpected faces in their starting line up- the recently retired Johnny Thompson now seemingly unretired, while Dale Culbert was drafted in for the first time in almost three years.

Rhys Logue hit an unbeaten 66 for the Red Caps with Uzman Azhar adding 38, Nasir Nawaz 32 and Rajput 24 in their total of 207-9 from their allotted overs.

Trent McKeegan bowled very quickly for his 4-47 while Samarth Seth (2-18 from 10) and Ross Dougherty (2-24) were both also on the mark.

Newbuildings never looked fazed if truth be told- Jason Dunn hitting 7 fours and 7 sixes in his 80 and Gareth McKeegan making 37 in an opening stand of 74 before Seth (46*) and Ryan Hunter (41*) finished it off without further fuss.

Eglinton edged past Ballyspallen in an entertaining encounter at the Roe Valley venue.

Andy Millar hit 46 early on for the villagers before ‘Spallen fought back to reduce them to 99-7, opening up a potential shock result.

A 55-run stand between Ross McLaughlin (33) and Adam Lamberton (25) was to prove decisive however as Eglinton posted a final target of 163.

Stephen Kennedy (3-13) and James Cusack (3-42) were the pick of the home attack with Promod Maduwantha (2-32) and Stuart Kennedy (2-49) also chipping in.

Kyle Morrow’s 31 and 23 from Maduwantha, who was then given out ‘hit the ball twice’ looked to have given the home side a real chance, before Josh Martin’s 5-12 got Eglinton over the line with an excellent spell.

There was a degree of symmetry in the other three ties with the beaten sides- Killyclooney, The Nedd and Fox Lodge all dismissed for exactly 100 runs.

Glendermott decided to bat first up at Killyclooney and it was certainly the correct choice as the Rectory outfit posted a mammoth 377-6 from their 50 overs.

Malinga Amarasinghe hit 13 fours and 8 sixes on his way to 125 while Ben Mills had 12 fours and 6 sixes in his 105 as the visitors piled on the agony first up.

The pair posted a 125-run stand for the third wicket before Amarasinghe and Alan Johnson (87*) then added a further 129 for the fourth, and there was no way back from there for Timmy Dougherty’s men.

William Finlay made 31 and Matthew Campbell 27 not out in their reply but it was to be a huge 277-run defeat for Killyclooney.

The Nedd were setting a target for 23-time cup winners Donemana when they made their total; Mark McCann top scoring for them with 25 while Johnny Young made 18* and Richard Wylie 16.

Rumesh Buddhika claimed 4-22, Andy McBrine 3-24 and William McBrine 2-10 while Donemana’s overseas man also chipped in with 50 in their successful reply as they went through by a comfortable six wickets.

Fox Lodge on the other hand were chasing what looked like a modest 117 all out as they lost by 17 runs against Coleraine.

Marcus Poskitt’s 43 (5 fours, 2 sixes) was by some way the best of the Bannsiders effort with the bat; Gayan Maneeshan picking up 5-26 for the home side with Aaron Heywood (3-20) and Jamie McIntyre (2-19) also on the mark with the ball.

The reply was far from a formality however- Charlie Simpson’s 19, McIntyre’s 18 and skipper Heywood (16) just about the height of it as Coleraine hung on to make Sunday’s quarter-final draw.


You may also like