Semi-final line-ups confirmed in T20 Cups

The last round of group games in this season’s White Horse T20 Cup were completed across the North West on Thursday night with some brilliant individual performances helping decide the make up of the semi-finals line up.

In Group A, Ian Young’s 59-ball 94(11 fours, 5 sixes) and 66 from Parth Palawat saw those two set a 153-run partnership for the third wicket as the Magheramason side won at Newbuildings.

Samarth Seth hit a 39-ball 86 for the hosts in reply (8 fours, 8 sixes) while Ross Dougherty continued his good run of form with another half century. It wasn’t to be for Newbuildings however; a stunning spell of 5-8 from 4 overs by Nathan McCombe saw Gareth McKeegan’s side finish 30 runs short.

Bready will go into the Faughan Valley semi-finals, Newbuildings into the Eric Cooke Cup and St Johnston into the Sperrin Springs after they beat Ballyspallen by 59 runs. Subhan Shirzad top scored with 65 while Graham Kennedy returned figures of 4-22 for the Roe Valley side as the Saints posted 164-8 batting first.

‘GK’ was best with the bat for the visitors too- his 26 the best of their 105-9 in reply.

Brigade finished top of Group B to join Bready in the Faughan Valley and the Beechgrove lads finished their group phase with a 6-wicket win at home to Glendermott.

Malinga Amarasinghe (33) and Tylor Moore (29) top scored in the visitors 145-9 with Iftikhar Hussain claiming 3-15 for the hosts. The former Pakistan ‘A’ player also made 51 in Brigade’s reply with Scott Macbeth hitting his second unbeaten knock of the day to ease Andy Britton’s men to the win.

Scott had earlier scored 60* as the Emerging Warriors beat an MCC Select at Strabane Park and he hit 4 fours and 4 sixes in an 18-ball 45 not out here as the Limavady Road outfit won by 6 wickets.

Bonds Glen retain second spot despite losing by 8 wickets at home to Coleraine, who finish third. David Cooke’s unbeaten 36 was best for the Bee Gees in their 110-7 but Marcus Poskitt’s 58 and an 18-ball 44 from Cephas Zhuwao (6 sixes, 1 four) handed the Bannsiders an emphatic victory.

Ardmore duly made it the full six wins from six games as they beat Eglinton by 6 wickets at the Green.

Liam Doherty made 36 and Adam Lamberton 29 while Bobby Brolly claimed figures of 4-19 and Dave Bezzant 4-20 as the villagers were bowled out for 127.

Bezzant was also in commanding form with the bat- cracking 77 of Ardmore’s reply as they closed out the perfect group performance. Eglinton finish second and Strabane third as the Red Caps were awarded full points after Burndennett conceded their scheduled game.

There was only one game completed in Group D as well which saw Donemana reclaim top spot after a 4-wicket win over Fox Lodge at the Holm.

Jason Milligan made 42 of the Foxes’ total of 102 with Rumesh Buddhika picking up three wickets and William McBrine and Dean Mehaffey two apiece.

Adam Walker (3-24) gave the Ballymagorry side some early hope of defending the modest total before Raymond Curry’s 31 not out helped Donemana to recover from 52-5 to seal the win and top spot. Fox Lodge finish second while Killyclooney have made the Sperrin Springs cup.

All semi-final draws and dates will be announced over the weekend.


You may also like