NWCU announce Board Changes

Following this week’s AGM, the North West Cricket Union would like to confirm changes to the Union’s Board of Directors ahead of the upcoming season.

Dr Manav Bhavsar has been elected as the new Director of Development, replacing George Brolly who has stepped down to help Umpire recruitment and development. George has given many years of service to the Union’s steering groups and indeed the Board itself and we want to thank him sincerely for that. We look forward to working with George in his umpiring role going forward.

Manav is no stranger to the NW cricket scene and this is his second year on the Board. He is a highly respected ambassador for the Union and of course outside of the sport has continued to head up the ICU team at Altnagelvin Hospital in the fight against Covid-19.

Rammohan Goud Sama is a new face on the Board this year. “Ramm” has been actively involved in cricket in Donegal for the past 17 years where he was a player and captain at St Johnston CC.

Having also played in India and South Africa he has also become more involved in coaching in recent years and is one of the founding members of Letterkenny CC.

Also at Wednesday night’s meeting, Neil Stewart, Marshall Kilgore and John Semple were re-elected after retiring by rotation.

NWCU Chairman, Brian Dougherty, was keen to welcome the new appointments:

“We welcome to our Board Rammohan, who brings a wealth of local cricketing knowledge, to our growing and strong board. I am delighted that Manav has agreed to head up the Development Committee and would like place on record my gratitude to George Brolly for all his years of support and service to the NWCU. Thankfully George is retaining his role with the Umpires committee.

I was delighted at how well attended the meeting was and the level of interaction. Collectively we can be stronger going forward and can hope for restriction free full season this year with continued success at club, inter-pro and international level.”


North West Cricket Union Board of Directors

Brian Dougherty (Chair)

Marshall Kilgore (Director of Elite Cricket)

Terence Patton (Director of Cricket Operations)

Neil Stewart (Director of Finance)

Brian Allen (Club Rep)

Manav Bhavsar (Director of Development)

John Semple (Derry Midweek League)

Joanne McLaughlin (Independent Director)

Rammohan Goud Sama (Independent Director)


You may also like