Thompson, McGonigle and Simpson honoured at NWCU Awards Night

Three legends of the club game were honoured at the NWCU Awards night on Friday.

Jordan McGonigle, Mark Simpson and Johnny Thompson all announced their retirements from club cricket this season and were presented with awards from Bobby Rao to mark their huge contribution to club cricket in the North West.

Rachit Gaur captained Ardmore to their first senior title and scored over 1,000 runs in the process as he was the worthy winner of the Radio Foyle Men’s Player of the Year. Mark Pollock showed his class as an all-rounder with 762 runs and 32 wickets as he claimed the Michael Bannigan Players’ Player of the Year.

Mollie Devine’s fine form with bat and ball saw her lift the Women’s Player of the Year whilst Alana Dalzell picked up the batting award and Jenni Jackson the bowling. Dalzell was also named Warriors Womens Player of the Year after a standout season for both the Warriors, Dragons and Ireland.

Her Dragons teammate, Lucy McGranaghan, won the Womens Young Player of the Year with Scott Macbeth collecting Mens Young Player of the Year. After a strong season at both club and international youth level, Samuel Haslett won the Jack Glenn Trophy.

In a new category to recognise the contribution of North West schools, Chris Wilson of Lisneal College was the winner of the inaugural Schools Cricket Champion Award.

The effort of volunteers were recognised with Bonds Glen’s Cherith Thompson winning the Club Person of the Year and Bready’s youth coach, Robert Spence, winning the Coach of the Year.


NWCU Award Winners 2023

Mens League 4 Batting – Sam McClintock (Newbuildings)

Mens League 4 Bowling – Lewis Campbell (Newbuildings)

Mens League 3 Batting – Mark Roulston (Burndennett)

Mens League 3 Bowling – Robert Millar (Coleraine)

Mens League 2 Batting – Jason Bell (Newbuildings)

Mens League 2 Bowling – Mark Simpson (Brigade)

Mens League 1 Batting – Rian McKelvey (Sion Mills)

Mens League 1 Bowling – Glen McCallan (Sion Mills)

Men’s Premier Batting – Rachit Gaur (Ardmore)

Men’s Premier Bowling – Scott Macbeth (Brigade)

Women’s Division 2 – Batting Laura McGarrigle (Newbuildings)

Women’s Division 2 – Bowling Jodie Spence (Bready) and Ella Wasson (Newbuildings)

Women’s Division 1 – Batting Alana Dalzell (Bready)

Women’s Division 1 – Bowling Jenni Jackson (Eglinton)

Women’s Young Player of the Year – Lucy McGranaghan (Strabane/Sion Mills)

Men’s Young Player of the Year – Scott Macbeth (Brigade)

Jack Semple Young Player of the Year – Samuel Haslett (Bonds Glen)

Women’s Warriors Player of the Year – Alana Dalzell

Men’s Warriors Player of the Year – Craig Young

Coach of the Year – Robert Spence (Bready)

Club Person of the Year – Cherith Thompson (Bonds Glen)

Schools Cricket Champion – Chris Wilson (Lisneal College)

Michael Bannigan Award – Mark Pollock (Burndennett)

Women’s Senior Player of the Year – Mollie Devine (Fox Lodge)

Radio Foyle Player of the Year – Rachit Gaur (Ardmore)


You may also like