The NWCU held its annual awards ceremony at the White Horse Hotel on Friday night where around 150 guests enjoyed a superb evening of dinner and entertainment. Guest speaker Liam Beckett MBE was in superb form and it’s fair to say the big gathering thoroughly enjoyed his recollections of a colourful career.


It was little surprise that senior league and cup winners Brigade swept the boards in the Premiership category with skipper Andy Britton winning the Radio Foyle Player of the Year for the second successive season. Gareth McKeegan picked up the Players’ Player award while David Barr claimed the senior batting and Jonny Robinson the bowling trophy.


Eglinton’s Tommy Orr won Young Player of the Year and Scott Macbeth picked up the Jack Glenn Memorial Youth Player while Mark Olphert was named Coach of the Year. Graham Hume was nominated Warriors Player of the Year while there was plenty of emotion in the air as Robert “Lofty” McGonigle received the Club Person of the Year to a standing ovation from guests.


In the Women’s category, Fox Lodge’s Sarah Black won both the bowling and the Interprovincial Player awards while Leanne Brandon won the women’s bowling and Zara Craig the Young Player of the Year. The house was back on their feet again as Junior McBrine and Nigel Thompson were inducted into the North West Hall of Fame at the end of what was a real celebration of local cricket.

Full list of award winners-

Harry Henderson Fair Play award
Jamie McIntyre

Midweek Batting
Ben Mills

Midweek Bowling
Jason Wallace

Qualifying 3 Batting
David Mills

Q3 Bowling
Greg Piergrosse

Qualifying 2 Batting
Deepak Reddy

Qualifying 2 Bowling
JJ O’Brien

Qualifying 1 Batting
Robert Spence

Qualifying 1 Bowling
Cameron Knight

Women’s Batting
Sarah Black

Women’s Bowling
Leanne Brandon

Women’s Interprovincial Player
Sarah Black

Girl’s Interprovincial Player
Zara Craig

Coach of the Year
Mark Olphert

Jack Glenn Memorial Youth Player Award
Scott Macbeth

Club Person of the Year
Robert “Lofty” McGonigle

Warriors Player of the Year
Graham Hume

Young Player of the Year
Tommy Orr

Championship Batting
Giles Moan

Championship Bowling
Jarred Wilson

Premier Division Batting
David Barr

Premier Division Bowling
Jonny Robinson

Michael Bannigan Award
Gareth McKeegan

Radio Foyle Player of the Year
Andy Britton

Hall of Fame Winners
Nigel Thompson
Junior McBrine

You may also like