Newbuildings claim Premier Division title

Newbuildings are the North West Champions for 2022 after Jared Wilson’s side beat Ardmore on Saturday to seal their first ever senior crown. 

The Foyle View outfit went into the game knowing that a bonus points win was required against Ardmore to see them claim the big prize and they duly did just that, after the obligatory second-innings scare of course.

Batting first, the home team made 251 all out but then had their total boosted to 263 after Ardmore were penalised for a slow over rate.

Skipper Wilson top scored with 52 (7 fours, 1 six) after top order runs from Mark Hanna (42), Leeroy McKeegan (33), Jason Dunn 29 and then Ross Dougherty (22).

Dharm Singh (3-36), Tyron Koen (2-45), Rachit Gaur (2-48) and Harry Zimmerman (2-57) were best with the ball for the Bleechgreen side, who were soon in trouble in their reply.

Trent McKeegan (3-37) and Johnny Thompson (2-24) were on the mark early as Ardmore slumped to 11-4, before a 140-run stand between Koen and Gaur pulled the visitors right back into the mix.

And just as they had started to really threaten to spoil the party, Ardmore lost both batsmen in the space of three deliveries. First, Gaur was bowled by Wilson for 72 (12 fours, 1 six) and then Koen holed out to Jason Dunn for 75 (9 fours, 2 sixes).

And with that the momentum shifted noticeably- Conor Brolly’s 27 and Dave Bezzant (23 not out) offering token resistance in what soon became a lost cause as a long night of celebration got under way.

Eglinton beat Fox Lodge by 18 runs in the day’s other Premier League game- Mike Erlank’s 51 much the best of the hosts’ total of 147 all out. Gary McBride (3-11) and Brian Allen (3-41) were the somewhat unlikely stars with the ball for the Ballymagorry men.

Skipper Aaron Heywood opened the batting for his side in a match with a general ‘end of season’ feel to it; ‘Zipper’ hitting 34, Craig Doherty 34 and Jonny Robinson as the Foxes reached 103-3 before being bowled out for 129.

Robbie Millar returned excellent figures of 4-18 with Jamie Millar (2-6) and Mark Averill (2-27) chipping in to the narrow success.

The League 1 Cup final turned out to be a somewhat one-sided affair as Donemana IIs beat the Nedd at Glendermott by an innings and 70 runs.

Mark McCann’s 45 was the highlight of The Nedd’s first innings total of 144- Chris Neely with stunning figures of 6-14 for the Tyrone team.

A 184-run stand between Ritchie McBrine (120) and Graham Boyd (108) as well as 64 for DJ Dougherty saw Donemana rack up 375-5 in their reply, and there was no way back from there for the Ballykelly side.

Johnny Young top scored with 51 and Kyle Morrow added 33 to their total of 161- Neely adding 4-30 to give him a 10-wicket haul for the game and a man-of-the-match award to boot!



You may also like