Killyclooney stun Section 1 leaders Donemana to record first league win

Killyclooney caused the biggest upset of the domestic season so far as the Division 1 bottom side stunned their neighbours and league leaders Donemana to win a nail-biting, low-scoring game on Saturday afternoon.

Batting first, Jamal Anwar made 24 and William Finlay 21 as the home side set a very modest total of 104 all out. Raymond Curry (4-28) and David O’Sullivan (3-24) were best with the ball for the visitors with Rumesh Buddhika chipping in with 2-22.

It looked a straightforward 90 minutes work for the Holm men, however skipper Timmy Dougherty (3-28), Matthew Campbell (3-36) and Jordan Nelson (2-13) had other ideas as the leaders found themselves reeling on 66-8 in reply.

Three players scored 16 in the reply- Gary McClintock, William McClintock and Dwayne McGarrigle; the last pair seeming having rescued the situation to take the total to 102-8, needing just three to win.

Skipper Dougherty then threw the ball to Jason Wallace, who needed just four deliveries to pick up the final two wickets without conceding a run- more importantly handing his side their first league win of the season.

Fellow senior cup finalists Newbuildings took advantage of Donemana’s slip up as they inflicted a fourth defeat in six games on reigning champions, Ardmore at the Bleachgreen.

Ciaran Roundtree made 24, Mark Chambers 24 and Rachit Gaur 23 as the home side were also dismissed for a disappointing total of 101 with Ryan Hunter tidying up the innings to finish with stunning figures of 4-1. Trent McKeegan bowled very well first up to finish with 3-19 and the Foyle View side had little difficulty in rattling off the win from there.

A couple of early wickets for skipper Gaur (2-30) didn’t threaten to become anything more than a consolation for Ardmore as an unbroken 66-run stand between Samarth Seth (37*) and the in-form Ross Dougherty (32*) steered Gareth McKeegan’s men into second place in the table with a 7-wicket verdict.

Brigade consolidated third spot with a gritty, 4-wicket win at home to Bready.

Half centuries from Parth Palawat (67) and Gavin Roulston (55) as well as 37 from Ian Young and 20 from Ryan Clarke helped the Magheramason side to a competitive 220-8 batting first. David Barr (2-37) and Andy Britton (2-51) were among the wickets for the hosts, and skipper Britton was also on the mark with the bat as they chased down the total with a bit to spare.

Cameron Melly top scored with 92 (13 fours, 1 six) with Britton adding an unbeaten 53 as the Limavady Road side kept themselves right in contention, despite a decent spell of bowling from Bready skipper Ian Young (3-34).

Eglinton’s recent run of form has now seen them climb into the top four after Jamie Millar’s men recorded a 5-wicket win at Sandel Lodge.

Scott Campbell made 62 (4 sixes, 3 fours) with Craig Averill adding 59 and Marcus Poskitt 38 as the Bannsiders set a target of 231-8; Andy Millar (4-39) the pick of Eglinton’s bowling.

A superb century from Liam Doherty however, and a big-hitting 79 from Andy Millar saw the visitors rack up 154 from their first wicket partnership and they were able to cruise home from there.

Doherty hit 9 sixes and 5 fours in his 115 while Millar’s knock included 6 maximums and 5 fours with Cephas Zhuwao (2-44) the pick of Coleraine’s bowlers.

In Section 2, St Johnston and Strabane continue to set the pace after both posted good wins on the road.

The Saints increased their lead at the top as they had 58 runs to spare over Glendermott at The Rectory. After 30 overs, the Donegal side were 108-4, however the last 10 overs saw another 90 runs added, with Graeme McCarter (65*) contributing quite a few of those.

Michael Rankin had earlier made 44 before McCarter hit 6 sixes and 4 fours and coupled with a late cameo from Matthew Orr (21) saw the visitors close on 198-7.

Ben Mills (2-7) and Trevor Britton (2-30) bowled tidily, but the home side were soon in trouble in reply.

Malinga Amarasinghe was the best of it with 30, but Subhan Shirzad (3-26) and David Anthony (3-27) combined with Ryan McAuley’s 2-20 saw the leaders claim full points.

John Mooney was again front and centre for the Red Caps as they recovered from a shaky start with the bat to beat Bonds Glen by 5 wickets.

Chasing 134, Strabane were struggling on 61-5 before Mooney (44*) and Conor Graham (18*) got them home. Nasir Nawar had earlier made 35 at the top of the order while Kyle Moore bowled very well to pick up four early wickets (4-29).

‘Nas’ had earlier claimed 4-19, Usman Azhar (3-26) and former Irish International Mooney (3-36) as the Bee Gees were kept at arm’s length despite Pushpender Singh top scoring with 47.

There were a few highlights in Fox Lodge’s huge win at The Nedd- Charlie Simpson hitting his first senior century for the Ballymagorry side before bowler Adam Walker helped himself to 7 wickets in the second innings.

Simpson hit 13 fours and 2 sixes in his 115 with half centuries coming from TJ Nicholl (62), Craig Doherty (54*) and other contributions from Gayan Maneeshan (37) and Jason Milligan (36*) as the Foxes racked up 324-3.

Those types of totals are usually too rich for most and so it proved here as the home side were bowled out for just 42 with Walker claiming the bragging rights with 7-15.

Ballyspallen’s rejuvenation gathered more pace as they beat Burndennett by 138 runs in the Roe Valley.

West Indian Tevyn Walcott hit 10 fours and 4 sixes as he also went to three figures (107), aided and abetted by Graham Kennedy (46), Stuart Kennedy (42) and James Cusack (32) as ‘Spallen posted 266-7.

Ross McCay and Niall McDonnell picked up two wickets each, however Mark Doherty’s 26 was the best of the visitors’ reply as ‘GK’ and his brother Stephen shared six wickets and Dillan McElhinney two as the second innings closed on 128.





                                                                            SECTION 1

TEAM Played Won Lost Tied No Result Bonus Points Total Points
Donemana 7 5 1 0 1 20 120
Newbuildings 7 4 3 0 1 20 100
Brigade 7 4 2 0 1 17 97
Eglinton 7 4 2 0 1 12 92
Bready 6 3 2 0 1 19 79
Coleraine 7 2 5 0 0 17 57
Ardmore 6 1 4 0 1 13 33
Killyclooney 7 1 5 0 1 2 22


                                                                                                                  SECTION 2

TEAM Played Won Lost Tied No Result Bonus Points Total Points
St Johnston 7 5 2 0 0 30 130
Strabane 7 5 1 0 1 19 119
Ballyspallen 7 4 2 0 1 18 98
Fox Lodge 7 4 2 0 1 15 95
Bonds Glen 7 3 3 0 1 14 74
Glendermott 7 2 4 0 1 15 55
Burndennett 7 1 5 0 1 9 29
The Nedd 7 0 6 0 1 0 0


**Placings for teams on same points is determined by Net Run Rate



You may also like