Gillespie century highlights T20 semi-finals night

The six semi-finals in this season’s T20 competitions were played out across the North West on Friday evening with one or two minor surprises adding to the occasion. Cup kings Donemana were beaten at Eglinton in the Faughan Valley and will now meet Brigade who got the better of a Bready side who were tasting defeat for the first time this summer. 

Mark Averill’s 33 and 30 from Jamie Millar helped the villagers to a total of 157-7 and despite a half century from Ritchie McBrine and 39 from Jamie Huey in reply, Donemana could manage only 134-9 in reply.

Bready posted a target of 120-7 at Beechgrove- Irosh Samarasooriya (30), Mervyn Magee (26) and Ian Young (25*) the best of that, however Kyle Magee’s unbeaten 55 steered the hosts to a comfortable 7-wicket win.

In the Eric Cooke Cup, a superb century from Aaron Gillespie helped Strabane to a 98-run victory at Newbuildings. The Red Caps’ skipper crashed 9 fours and 7 sixes in his 59-ball knock before a 5-wicket haul for Tanvir Hassan (5-19) and three wickets for Rhys Logue reduced the hosts to 72 all out.

Strabane will meet Fox Lodge in the final after an unbeaten 48 from Jason Milligan and 32 from TJ Nicholl helped the Ballymagorry men to a very competitive 159-8 at Ardmore. The Bleachgreen side had few answers to the slow stuff in reply as Jonny Robinson and Aaron Heywood shared 6 wickets for a total of 24 runs as they were dismissed for 92.

Killyclooney beat Coleraine to aptly reach the final of the Sperrin Springs Cup. The Bannsiders were bowled out for 125 in this one while unbeaten half centuries from Timmy Dougherty and Alan Colhoun eased the hosts to an 8-wicket verdict.

‘Clooney will meet St Johnston in the decider after the Donegal men saw off Glendermott at the Boathole. The visitors batted first here and 77 from Nauman Anwar was by a long way the best of their 140-6 from 20 overs. A 69-run opening stand between Michael Rankin (42) and Jack Macbeth (37) set the Saints on their way and 25 not out from Ian Macbeth sealed the 5-wicket win.

Dates and venues for the finals will be announced in due course.

You may also like