Five warriors Named in ireland innagrual test squad


14-man squad named for the historic first Ireland Men’s Test Match


Cricket Ireland today announced the 14-man squad for the historic first Ireland Men’s Test Match against Pakistan at a press conference today.

No fewer than five of the current North West Warriors side have been included in the Ireland squad to face Pakistan in next week’s historic Test match at Malahide.
The 14-man panel was unveiled in Dublin this morning with William Porterfield, Boyd Rankin, Niall O’Brien, Andy McBrine and Stuart Thompson all making the elite list.
Craig Young can consider himself unlucky not to have made it as well; the Bready bowler has started the season in fine form after being troubled by injury in 2017.
The Warriors’ were unfortunate to fall just short of a telling win against Leinster Lightning at Pembroke this week- a battling rearguard action from Kevin O’Brien and George Dockrell holding the North West team off from inflicting an innings defeat on the champions on the final day.

The Test Match will take place from 11-15 May 2018 at Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin.

Ireland tEST squad namedThe 14-man squad is:

  • William Porterfield (capt)
  • Andrew Balbirnie
  • Ed Joyce
  • Tyrone Kane
  • Andy McBrine
  • Tim Murtagh
  • Kevin O’Brien
  • Niall O’Brien
  • Boyd Rankin
  • Nathan Smith
  • Paul Stirling
  • James Shannon
  • Stuart Thompson
  • Gary Wilson

The final playing eleven will be named on the morning of the Test Match (Friday 11 May 2018). Player profiles available below.

As announced last week, the broadcast package for the Test is in three parts:

  • Sky Sports will broadcast ball-by-ball coverage in the Ireland and UK markets of the Test Match against Pakistan (11-15 May 2018).
  • RTÉ Television will broadcast a 1-hour highlights package of every day’s play for the Test Match against Pakistan.
  • Pitch International have sold the overseas television broadcast rights in a number of countries, across a number of networks including in key markets like the US, Canada, sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East, south Asia and Australia.

Ball-by-ball radio broadcast will be announced next week.

Pre-sale tickets are selling well, with online sales through Ticketmaster (see here).

The Ireland Men’s national team is proudly supported by Turkish Airlines, whose support for Irish cricket has been featured in a new article in the May edition of Skylife (in-flight magazine):


Player profiles in brief


North West Warriors 

William Porterfield North west warriorWILLIAM PORTERFIELD

  • BORN: 6 September 1984
  • PROVINCE: North West
  • CLUBS: Formby
  • CAPS: 273
  • DEBUT: 2006
  • RUNS: 8,721
  • WICKETS: 1


Stuart Thompson North wEST warriors ireland test squad namedSTUART THOMPSON

  • BORN: 15 August 1991
  • PROVINCE: North West
  • CLUBS: Eglinton
  • CAPS: 59
  • DEBUT: 2012
  • RUNS: 652
  • WICKETS: 37


Andy McBrine North West warriors ireland test squad namedANDY McBRINE

  • BORN: 30 April 1993
  • PROVINCE: North West
  • CLUBS: Donemana
  • CAPS: 61
  • DEBUT: 2013
  • RUNS: 478
  • WICKETS: 52



Boyd Rankin nORTH west warriors ireland test squad namedBOYD RANKIN

  • BORN: 5 July 1984
  • PROVINCE: North West
  • CLUBS: Warwickshire
  • CAPS: 109
  • DEBUT: 2003
  • RUNS: 144
  • WICKETS: 169



Niall O'Brien North west warriors ireland test side namedNIALL O’BRIEN

  • BORN: 8 November 1981
  • PROVINCE: North West
  • CLUBS: Railway Union
  • CAPS: 212
  • DEBUT: 2002
  • RUNS: 6057
  • WICKETS: 1



You may also like