Brigade the sole North West survivor in Irish Senior Cup

North West clubs avoided a repeat of last year’s Irish Senior Cup first round ‘whitewash’ on Saturday, but only just, with Brigade the sole survivor following a convincing win over Woodvale at a resplendent Beechgrove.

A hugely disappointing day overall was brightened only by a significantly better showing in the National Cup where five of the eight local sides made it through to Round 2.

We start with the Bob Kerr trophy however and Scott Macbeth’s superb 123 was the highlight of Brigade’s win- the Warriors man blasting 12 sixes and 3 fours in his 87-ball knock; sharing in a 136-run stand for the third wicket with Adam McDaid who made 61.

Iftikhar Hussain gave his side a solid start with 39 and Marcello Piedt chipped in with 29 late on as the hosts set a target of 314-8 from their 50 overs.

Adita Adey (4-69) fared best of the bowlers, with Pretorius adding 2-45, however despite the South African’s classy 103 in reply, the rest couldn’t get to grips with Brigade’s attack.

Openers Adey (20) and Harry Warke (25) both got starts, but only those two and James Rose (14) made it to double figures as skipper Andy Britton (4-25) and Hussain (2-35) steered their team to a 119-run win.

Ardmore looked as though they might join Brigade in the hat as they reached 151-5 chasing North Down’s 185 all out. Ciaran Roundtree was pivotal to the Bleachgreen outfit’s reply, but he was finally dismissed for an excellent 87 (8 fours, 4 sixes) with his side still 19 short when the last wicket fell.

Ani Chore’s 79 was much the best of the Comber team’s innings with Harry Zimmermann (3-40), Rachit Gaur (3-42), Conor Brolly (a superb 2-12 from 10 overs) and Dharm Singh (2-42) picking up the wickets for the hosts.

Kerwin Mungroo and Liam Hayman both picked up three wickets while Mohamed Aahil and Peter Davison shared the other four for the NCU side.

A double century from Phoenix’s Jack Lalor did for Bready’s chances of progression as the Leinster side cruised to a huge 258-run win at Magheramason.

Lawlor hit 20 fours and 7 sixes in his unbeaten 201 which came off 147 deliveries; Shane Getkate adding 77 and Tyrone Kane 44 in a total of 374-5 from 50 overs.

Gavin Roulston (45) and Kyle Magee (28) were best of Bready’s 116-9; the home side’s misery compounded with David Scanlon suffering a stress fracture in his arm and unable to play any further part in the game.

Newbuildings also looked threatening before succumbing to CSNI at Stormont.

It was to be a familiar face haunting Gareth McKeegan’s team- home skipper Stuart Thompson hitting an unbeaten 87 as his side posted a target of 252-4 batting first.

Jordan Neill added 73 at the top of the order with Paddy Beverland chipping in with 36*in an unbroken fifth wicket stand worth 128 with his captain.

The visitors were going well as their skipper made 65 and Ryan Hunter 38 to help them reach 139-3 in reply before Adam Leckey (3-28), Matthew Foster (2-33) and Neill (2-30) bowled Civil Service back in front.

Ross Dougherty resisted with a patient 34, but Newbuildings fell away in the latter stages and were finally dismissed for 176- a 76-run deficit overall.

Clontarf skipper Eoghan Delany made an unbeaten 76 and his fellow opener David Vincent 73 not out as they hammered Killyclooney by 10 wickets in Tyrone.

Mark Gordon hit 6 sixes and 5 fours in his 61 while Kenzie Hall added 45 as ‘Clooney posted 171- Vincent with 4-36 and David Delany 3-52- but it was all academic as the Dublin side cruised into Round 2.

Donemana were also put to the sword at Anglesea Road as Merrion won the battle of the former champions in sensational style.

Raymond Curry hit an excellent 78 (13 fours) for the visitors and there were cameos from Gary McClintock (25), Levi Dougherty (23) and Rumesh Buddhika (21) as the North West team were bowled out for 190.

Melvin Devaraj claimed the bowling honours for the hosts with 5-35 while North West Warriors player Stephen Doheny warmed up for next week’s two Interpro games at Bready with an 81-ball 106 not out (14 fours, 2 sixes).

Doheny and Swapnil Modgill (72*) chased down the target with all ten wickets and more that 22 overs in hand as Merrion sent out a real statement of intent.

Coleraine also took a bit of a pasting as they went down by 284 runs at Sydney Parade.

Skipper Nick Stapleton hit 9 fours and 8 sixes as he made 144 while Tim Tector collected 13 boundaries and 3 ‘maximums’ in his 124 as the home side went on the rampage to post 394-7 in their allotted overs.

Lee Ritchie (2-56) fared best with the ball, but the beleaguered Bannsiders had little left when it was their turn to bat; Scott Campbell’s 36 much the best of their 110 all out in reply.

Paul Lawson (4-34) and Gavin Hoey (3-17) tidied things up to send Pembroke free-wheeling into Round 2.

And there was to be little respite in the final game as Instonians accounted for Eglinton by 142 runs at Shaw’s Bridge.

Robert McKinley (107), Nikolai Smith (89) and Oliver Metcalfe (64) combined to push the home side’s total to 307-4 in their 50 overs, with Mark Averill picking up two wickets for the villagers.

Andy Millar’s breezy 55 (5 sixes, 4 fours) was to be as good as it got in Eglinton’s reply however; Ross McLaughlin with a late 39 as the visitors were all out for 165.

Cian Robertson (4-21), Ben Rose (4-52) and Andrew White (2-31) were the bowlers on the mark as a pretty miserable first round ended for North West teams.

There was, as stated, better fortunes in the National Cup with The Nedd among the five teams to go through to the next phase.

Steve Moore hit 9 fours and 5 sixes on his way to 87 while Neal Stewart made 57 and Jason Mills 48 not out as the Ballykelly side set Belfast CC a total of 289.

Opener Farhan made 52 at the top of the visitors’ order but Stewart turned in a real man-of-the-match performance to claim 5-36 and backed up by Johnny Young (4-53), The Nedd completed a memorable 76-run win.

Gayan Maneeshan hit 90 and Jason Milligan 58 as Fox Lodge made 232-7 from their 40 overs at Ballymena.

The home side were never at the races in reply- Jamie McIntyre with 4-25, Levi Kerr 2-11 and Adam Walker 2-14 in a 161-run victory for the Ballymagorry outfit.

John Mooney returned stunning figures of 5-8 from 8 overs as Strabane dismissed Cork Harlequins for 85.

The Red Caps lost 5 wickets en route to the win- Nasir Nawar with 38 and Rhys Logue 29* ensuring the long journey home was a bit more enjoyable.

St Johnston are in the hat as well- Michael Rankin with an unbeaten 33, Graeme McCarter 29* and Deepak Reddy 26 as the Donegal side chased down Wexford Wanderers 119 with six wickets to spare.

David Anthony (3-20), Ryan McAuley (3-30), and McCarter (2-11) had earlier claimed the bowling honours as the visitors were kept well within arm’s length.

Ballyspallen made it five as they travelled down the west coast and came away with a 68-run verdict over University of Galway.

James Cusack hit 8 fours and 5 sixes in his 100 while Walcott added 37, Luke Gilfillan 36 and Stephen Kennedy 22* in their 286-8 from 40 overs.

Srajesh Mishra top scored with 46 for Galway with Samuel Pidugu adding 42 and several other batsmen getting starts, however Walcott (4-14) Kennedy (3-43) and Stuart Kennedy (2-35) helped ensure a win for the visitors.

Terenure proved too strong for Glendermott as they posted a 7-wicket win over the Rectory outfit while Donacloney Mill had 136-runs to spare over Bonds Glen at Kildoag.

Niall McDonnell scored a half century for Burndennett as they made 170 against a strong Rush side, however the visitors had 5-wickets to spare as they also progressed to Round 2.





You may also like