Brigade beat Donemana as T20 Groups continue

Brigade posted a 7-wicket win over Donemana at Beechgrove on Thursday night as Andy Britton’s side finally got their campaign up and running in the T20 competition.

An unbroken 115-run stand between Cameron Melly (77*) and David Barr (53*) helped the hosts chased down the Holm team’s total of 148-6 despite Gary Neely’s opening burst (3-17) threatening to make a match of it.

Jamie Huey (40), Graham Boyd (31) and William McClintock (21) were best with the bat for Donemana while Scott Macbeth took 2-32 for the hosts.

Newbuildings made it four wins from four starts with a 7-wicket victory at Ballyspallen.

Half centuries for Demith Perera (66) and Stuart Kennedy (57) guided ‘Spallen to a total of 155-3 from their 20 overs.

It wasn’t enough however as Johnny Thompson hit a 32-ball 62, Ross Dougherty made 32 not out and Gareth McKeegan an unbeaten 25 in a comfortable away win.

Coleraine proved too strong for Bready at Sandel Lodge; Ravi Karunaratne (32), Paddy Carson (26), Matty Smyth (22) and Rory Knox (18*) all among the runs as the Bannsiders set a target of 140-7.

Nathan McCombe collected 3-30 and Gavin Roulston 2-16 for the Magheramason side but their batting failed to fire in reply.

Davy Rankin’s 28 was the best of it- two wickets each for Scott Campbell, Matthew Hutchinson and Stephen Hutchinson as the chase closed on 105-7.

Killyclooney’s impressive home record took a bit of a hit as Eglinton beat them by 85 runs to close the gap a little in Group B.

Mike Erlank hit 7 fours and 5 sixes in a stylish 73 with support coming from Robbie Millar (42) and Ross McLaughlin (36) as Eglinton racked up 218-8.

There were two wickets each for Jason Wallace, Kenzie Hall, Jordan Connor and skipper Timmy Dougherty but the home side never threatened in reply.

Blayde Capell top scored (as he often does) with 37 with Richard McMorris (27) and Mark Gordon (20) also chipping in to a final total of 132-9.

Andy Millar (3-34) and Erlank (2-11) ensured a cosy win for the villagers.

Ardmore won a decent game at the Boathole to consolidate second place in the Group A table.

Jack Macbeth made an entertaining 61 with Deepak Reddy (35), Ian Macbeth (26) and David Lapsley (21) combining for a first innings target of 162-6.

Half centuries from Rachit Gaur (67) and Harry Zimmerman (56) always had the Bleachgreen side in control however, and despite a couple of wickets each for Lapsley and David Anthony, the visitors held on.

Strabane shot Burndennett out for 77 at the Park; Mark McNulty (4-9), Andrew Mullen (3-16) and Ryan Gallagher (2-17) with the damage, while Mark Pollock’s 24 was best of the visitors’ batting.

Kevin Gallagher made short work of that with an unbeaten 56, as the Red Caps had 9 wickets to spare.

And in the evening’s final game, Glendermott found a morale-boosting win at Bonds Glen in what was the highest scoring contest of the round.

The home side posted 182-4 in their 20 overs; David Cooke making 74 not out and Samuel Haslett adding 53 with Jake Montgomery (2-39) best with the ball.

The classy Gihan Cloete really found his range in the reply however- the South African hitting 15 fours and 7 sixes in his 108- sharing in a first wicket stand of 176 with Alan Johnson (60*) as Glendermott sauntered to a 9-wicket win.



GROUP A Played Won Bonus Pts Total Pts
Coleraine 4 3 17 77
Ardmore 4 3 14 74
Bready 4 2 5 45
St Johnston 4 0 4 4



GROUP B Played Won Bonus Pts Total Pts
Killyclooney 4 3 9 69
Eglinton 4 2 13 53
Glendermott 4 2 10 50
Bonds Glen 4 1 8 28



GROUP C Played Won Bonus Pts Total Pts
Newbuildings 4 4 15 95
Strabane 4 3 16 76
Burndennett 4 1 7 27
Ballyspallen 4 0 2 2



GROUP D Played Won Bonus Pts Total Pts
Fox Lodge 2 1 6 26
Donemana 3 1 5 25
Brigade 1 1 4 24

White Horse Hotel

You may also like