Brigade and Newbuildings win T20 Groups

There was a full set of fixtures in the Best Western White Horse T20 tournament on Friday night with many of the placings in the four groups now decided.

In Group A, Brigade needed only bonus points at Burndennett to claim top spot, however Andy Britton’s team recorded a 6-wicket win to seal the deal in style.

It looked very like the Beechgrove side might be chasing a big total after Marcello Piedt hit a 25-ball half century, but once the South African was caught on the boundary by the Brigade skipper for 71 (9 fours, 4 sixes), the runs dried up.

Mark Doherty’s 27 was best of the rest with Nick Gray (4-24) and Ryan Macbeth (3-26) the most successful of the bowlers.

Brigade’s top order were all among the runs in a comfortable chase, Graeme McCarter making 40, David Barr 39*, Adam McDaid 36 and Iftikhar Hussain 28 as the Faughan Valley cup holders won cosily.

Burndennett will be delighted with a second place finish while Fox Lodge remain third despite losing at Killyclooney.

Dean McCarter hit 5 fours and 5 sixes as the Ballymagorry outfit scored 163-7 batting first; Brian Allen adding 40 and Luke Hayes 26 while Giles Moan bowled very well to return figures of 4-11.

‘Clooney skipper Timmy Dougherty made an unbeaten 53 (5 fours, 4 sixes) however while William Finlay added 31 as they chased the target down with 5 wickets to spare.

There is still work to do in Group B, however Bonds Glen are within touching distance of claiming the honours there after an 8-wicket win at home to St Johnston.

Mattie Barr’s brilliant 110 not out (12 sixes and 7 fours) came off just 43 deliveries as the Bee Gees chased down the Donegal men’s total of 177-4 with something to spare.

Simon Killen chipped in with 31 and Raymond Curry 20* for the victors while David Anthony’s unbeaten 57 and 42 not out from Nathan Cole had helped the visitors to their competitive total.

Eglinton moved past Strabane into second in the table with a thumping win over the Red Caps at the village venue.

The home side racked up a mammoth 250-2 courtesy of 83 from Andy Millar (8 fours, 5 sixes) as well as an unbeaten 73 from Tommy Orr, 40 not out from Mike Erlank and 37 from Robbie Logue.

Strabane were rarely in the hunt after that despite Ryan Gallagher’s impressive 95 (9 fours 4 sixes), but no-one was able to keep him company in the chase.

Three wickets for Mark Averill and two apiece for Erlank, Mattie Mills and Jack Martin saw the hosts win by 102 runs.

In terms of the table, 4 bonus points from their final game will guarantee Bonds Glen top spot while Eglinton who are 21 points behind the leaders are only 1 clear of Strabane in third.

Newbuildings clinched victory in Group C after a bloodless win over Glendermott at Foyleview Arena.

Johnny Thompson blasted his second century of this month as he made 101 not out (12 sixes, 3 fours) while Ryan Hunter added 54* as the home side easily chased down the Rectory men’s 183-7.

Trevor McDermott had made 55 and Jamal Anwar 47 in Glendermott’s total, but it was to count for little in the end.

In Group D, Bready and Coleraine will meet next Friday at Magheramason to sort out first and second placings there after both won again.

Bready beat Ballyspallen by 32 runs; Demith Perera making 56 for the Roe Valley side while Davy Scanlon (3-14), Irosh Samarasooriya (3-17) and Ian Young (3-19) shared the wicket haul as the visitors were bowled out for 124.

Earlier Irosh hit 61 and James McKillop 34 as the hosts set a target of 152-6 which they were comfortably able to defend.

Coleraine claimed an impressive 52-run verdict at Ardmore with Ravindra Karunaratne hitting 6 fours and 6 sixes in his unbeaten 75 made from just 33 deliveries.

Ben Johnston chipped in with 26 and Varun Chopra 21 for a total of 171-5 while Dharm Singh (3-21) was best with the ball for Ardmore.

Singh fared best of the reply too as he made 30, but Karunaratne’s 3-29 ensured Coleraine got the points.

The Bannsiders now need just 3 bonus points next weekend to win the group.

You may also like