Ardmore and Ballyspallen into senior cup semi-finals

The draw for the semi-finals of this year’s North West senior cup will take place at lunchtime tomorrow (Monday) after Ardmore and Ballyspallen joined Brigade and Glendermott in the last four.

The Bleachgreen side hammered Eglinton by 143 runs after Jarred Wilson (56), Ryan Brolly (46), Ciaran Curley (34), Peet Pienaar (27) and Decker Curry (24) combined to post a target of 253-9. Eglinton were never really in the hunt after that, bar when Mile Erlank (59) and Jamie Millar (35) were together, however the highest score after those two was Simon Dunn’s 6 not out.

Three wickets apiece for Gary Neely, Decker Curry and Lee Brolly sealed Eglinton’s fate as the hosts cantered into the semi-finals.

The Ballyspallen v Strabane game was a more turgid affair with difficult batting conditions making it a hard watch at times.

Jamie Millar’s 34 was best of the hosts total of 132- a number boosted by a 30-run last wicket partnership between Paul McIlmoyle (19 not out) and Andrew Scott (6).

Ryan Gallagher (3-31) was best with the ball for Strabane with Rhys Logue and Balaji Govindasamy claiming two wickets each.

Strabane were never at the races in reply; Chathura Peiris faring best of it as he made 18 in a total of 82- Mark Averill with an outstanding 3-11 from his 10 overs and Stephen Kennedy also impressing with an excellent 3-18 as ‘Spallen won by 50 runs.

The Warriors second T20 game at Pembroke against Leinster Lightning was abandoned due to rain without a ball bowled. Ian McGregor’s charges will be hoping for better conditions when they close out their trip to Pembroke against Munster Reds tomorrow morning.





956), Ryan Brolly (46),

You may also like